Political Support

Toronto Aviation Noise Group (T.A.N.G.) has worked tirelessly over the last 4 years to deal with the noise issue over mid-town Toronto, engaging politicians at federal, provincial, and municipal levels to seek support to deal with the unjust noise issue brought about by NAV CANADA. Our team has sought coalitions at the municipal and federal levels. To date, we are now successful at the municipal level, and continue to rally support at the federal level. Due to the recent federal election October 2015, the federal coalition of Toronto-area MPs is still a work in progress. Below are some of the results of these efforts.

Federal Ridings finder

RECENT LETTERS OF SUPPORT
Mayor John Tory, City of Toronto
City of Toronto Councillor Coalition (Councillor Jon Burnside)
Councillor Perks letter to Marc Garneau
MPP Kathleen Wynne, Don Valley West
MPP Dr. Eric Hoskins, St. Pauls
MPP Cheri DiNovo, High Park
MP Rob Oliphant, Don Valley West

Responses
Minister of Transport Marc Garneau – response to Mayor John Tory
T.A.N.G. – Letter to Minister of Transport Marc Garneau

Location/Political
The geographic focus of this site originally covered boundaries of Avenue Rd. to the west, Laird Dr./Leslie St. to the east, York Mills Rd. to the north, and St. Clair Ave. to the south.

Since changes made by NAV CANADA Feb. 9th 2012 to the downwind leg of the approach path to runway 24 (Pearson’s “south complex”), resulting in a greater concentration of flight traffic over specific neighbourhoods, the geographic coverage now includes: Parkdale-High Park to the west, St. Clair Ave. to the south, York Mills Rd. to the north, and Leslie Ave. to the east.

Political Boundaries and contacts (local/federal):

Ward 14 – Gord Perks: councillor_perks@toronto.ca
Parkdale-High Park: arif.virani@parl.gc.ca

Ward 16 – Christin Carmichael Greb: councillor_carmichael-greb@toronto.ca
Eglinton-Lawrence: Marco.Mendicino@parl.gc.ca

Ward 21 – Joe Mihevc: councillor_mihevc@toronto.ca
Ward 22 – Josh Matlow: councillor_matlow@toronto.ca
St. Paul’s: carolyn.bennett@parl.gc.ca

Davenport: andrew.cash@parl.gc.ca

Ward 25 – Jaye Robinson: councillor_robinson@toronto.ca
Ward 26 – Jon Burnside: councillor_burnside@toronto.ca
Don Valley West: Rob.Oliphant@parl.gc.ca

History:  Toronto Pearson development and aviation noise chronology

Correspondence:
Please send all posts to this site. The posts will be reviewed and the writer will be contacted to seek permission to include interested persons on a distribution list, soley for the purpose of communicating aviation noise issue affecting our neighbourhoods.

Alternatively, you may write directly to: gr392.planes@gmail.com

Helping outt.a.n.g.help.now@gmail.com
* canvassing, flyer distribution, campaigning residents’/neighbours’ awareness for this issue

Thank you for your support.